J E Brown Warehouse
About J E Brown Warehouse
J E Brown commenced business as a provisions and victuals merchant in 1857 in Richmond Street. In 1879 J E Brown had this two-storey brick warehouse built and was designed by a local architect James Buchanan. In later years, the premises were used for dances, balls, boxing tournaments, and a restaurant, and currently houses the Maryborough Military and Colonial Museum.
This museum provides a testament to not only those heroes who fought in distant lands but also those courageous and determined people who pioneered and progressed the Maryborough area for nearly two centuries.