Location Maryborough
Address Wharf Street
Maryborough QLD 4650
Postal Maryborough Fraser Island Visitor Information Centre
PO Box 1943
Hervey Bay QLD 4655
More Info

Information & Bookings
Fraser Coast Information Centre
+61 1800 811 728

What it's all about

The fun, the excitement

The Mary River has been known by many names, with the Aborigines calling the river Booie, Moonaboola, Numabulla or Mooraboocoola. It was named the Wide Bay River until September 1848, when Governor Fitzroy renamed the river in honour of his wife, Lady Mary Fitzroy.

The Mary River is unique in that it flows from south to north with its headwaters near the Sunshine Coast hinterland and its mouth at River Heads just south of Hervey Bay.

Maryborough is also home to the stunning Mary River Parklands which is built on the site of the original Port of Maryborough and forms part of the Portside Precinct. Parkland surrounding the river offers natural terracing, community forecourt, public art works, winding pathways and gardens.

Find Us At

Wharf Street, Maryborough

57